• The Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards

    The Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards recognise and reward the hard work and dedication of stud and stable staff, acknowledging the huge contribution they make to the Irish racing industry.

    The awards encompass 10 categories, which carry total prize money of €84,000 in 2018, an increase of €4,500 from 2017.

    The finalists in each category were chosen by the 13 judges on the Irish Stud and Stable Staff judging committee who reviewed each of the nomination forms and interviewed all the finalists. 

    The 2018 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Award winners:

    Irish Racing Excellence Award
    Pat Farrell, Stud Groom, Moyglare Stud, County Kildare
    Administration Award
    Gillian Carey, Operations Manager, Fairyhouse Racecourse, County Meath
    Denis Hickey, Racing Secretary, Ballydoyle, County Tipperary
    Vicki McWey, Supervisor Registrations Department, Horse Racing Ireland, County Kildare
    Newcomer Award
    Georgie Benson, Stable Lass, Gordon Elliott, County Meath
    Joanne Eaton, Stable Lass, Willie McCreery, County Kildare
    Charlie Sweeney, Pupil Assistant/Second Head Lad, Eyrefield House Stud, County Kildare
    Horse Care Award
    Mary Nugent, Travelling Assistant, Gordon Elliott, County Meath
    Emma Connolly, Travelling Head Lass / Assistant Trainer, Noel Meade, County Meath
    Sinead O'Sullivan, Head Girl, John Murphy, County Cork
    In The Saddle Award
    James Rath, Head Lad, Liz Doyle, County Wexford
    Audrey O'Neill, Exercise Rider & Groom, John Oxx, County Kildare
    Josep Sans Sanchez, Head Man, PJ Prendergast, County Kildare
    Travelling Head Person Award
    Camilla Sharples, Travelling Head Girl, Gordon Elliott, County Meath
    Tina Evans, Travelling Head Girl, Joseph O’Brien, County Kilkenny
    Jason Forsyth, Travelling Head Person, John Oxx, County Kildare
    Leads by Example Award
    Stephen Thorne, Assistant Trainer, Adrian McGuinness, County Dublin
    Tom Daly, Assistant Head Man, Dermot Weld, County Kildare
    Valerie Keatley, Head Girl, Johnny Murtagh, County Kildare
    Dedication to Racing and Breeding Award
    Pat Farrell, Stud Groom, Moyglare Stud, County Kildare
    Runners up:
    Eamonn Leigh, Headman, Jessica Harrington, County Kildare
    Tommy Ryan, Head Lad, Edward O’Grady, County Tipperary
    Racing and Breeding Support Services Award
    Martin ‘Snowy’ Pearse, Facilities Manager, Punchestown Racecourse, County Kildare
    Runners up:
    Martin Leahy, Master Farrier, Bruff, County Limerick 
    Sharon O'Regan, Head of Operations, Weatherbys Ireland GSB Ltd, County Kildare
    Racecourse Award
    Fairyhouse Racecourse, Ratoath, County Meath



This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services. Click here for more info