• The Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards

    The Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards recognise and reward the hard work and dedication of stud and stable staff, acknowledging the huge contribution they make to the Irish racing industry. There are 10 award categories with an overall Irish Racing Excellence Award recognising an exceptional contribution to the industry.

    Each award winner receives a specially commissioned trophy and a share of the €80,000 prize fund.

    The 10 winners and runners-up for the 2017 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards:  

      Irish Racing Excellence Award:

      - Owen Smyth, Head Stallion Man, Kildangan Stud, County Kildare  

      Administration Award:

      - Catherine McAvinney, Practice Manager, Anglesey Lodge Equine Hospital, Kildare  


      Tom Gallagher, Stud Office Manager, Kildangan Stud, County Kildare
      Zoe Winston, Racing Secretary, Gordon Elliott, County Meath  

      Newcomer Award:

      - Sarah McCrory, Head Girl, Ted Walsh, County Kildare  


      Mark Byrne, Marketing and Nominations, Ballylinch Stud, County Kilkenny
      Patrick Murray, Stable Groom, Dermot Weld, County Kildare  

      Horse Care Award:

      - Elaine O’Donovan
    , Head Girl, Eoin Griffin, County Kilkenny  


      Ashley Hussey, Stable Girl, Jessica Harrington, County Kildare
      Joe Behan, Groom, Derrinstown Stud, County Kildare  

      In The Saddle Award:

      - Adrian Taylor, Assistant Trainer, Jim Bolger, County Carlow  


      Brendan Hoare, Stud Groom, Coolmore Stud, County Tipperary
      Derek McCormack, Work Rider/Assistant Head Man, Rathbride Yard, Dermot Weld, County Kildare  

      Travelling Head Person Award:

      - Patrick O’Brien, Travelling Head Man, Dermot Weld, County Kildare  


      Camilla Sharples, Travelling Head Girl, Gordon Elliott, County Meath
      Hazel Wallace, Travelling Head Person, Tracey Collins, County Kildare  

      Leads by Example Award:

      - Owen Smyth, Head Stallion Man, Kildangan Stud, County Kildare  


      Joseph Mulholland, Head Man, Rathbride Yard, Dermot Weld, County Kildare
      Robert Hennessy, Head Man, Sandra Hughes, County Kildare  

      Dedication to Racing and Breeding Award:

      - Tommy Woods, Travelling Head Lad, Paul Nolan, County Wexford  

      Runners up: 

      Robert Gallagher, Head Man, Michael Halford, County Kildare
      Tony Coyle, Stud Manager, Yeomanstown Lodge, County Kildare  

      Racing and Breeding Support Services Award:

      - James Flanagan, Farrier for Jim Dreaper, County Meath  

      Racecourse Award

      - Punchestown Racecourse, County Kildare 


This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services. Click here for more info